East Anglia: New Constituency Boundaries 2018

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These tables show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2015 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should give the most accurate projection, since it reflects varying political behaviour across the seat.

East Anglia Change Table

  Old SeatsNew SeatsChangeDisappearSwitch OutSwitch InFresh

The table shows how the various changes affect each party in this region. The total old and new seats are shown for each party, as well as their difference ('Change'). The change in seats is also explained through the four explanations:


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bedford 99.3% of Bedford 3.8% of Bedfordshire Mid
0.6% of Bedfordshire North East
Bedfordshire Mid 76.0% of Bedfordshire Mid 12.0% of Bedfordshire North East
0.0% of Bedford
Bedfordshire North East 87.4% of Bedfordshire North East 1.5% of Bedfordshire Mid
0.7% of Bedford
Bedfordshire South West 80.9% of Bedfordshire South West 18.7% of Bedfordshire Mid
Luton North and Houghton 91.8% of Luton North 15.4% of Bedfordshire South West
Luton South 100% of Luton South 8.2% of Luton North
3.7% of Bedfordshire South West


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Cambridge 100% of Cambridge 6.7% of Cambridgeshire South
3.7% of Cambridgeshire South East
Cambridgeshire North East 92.6% of Cambridgeshire North East
Cambridgeshire North West 87.0% of Cambridgeshire North West 0.0% of Huntingdon
Cambridgeshire South 81.7% of Cambridgeshire South 8.8% of Cambridgeshire South East
4.4% of Huntingdon
Cambridgeshire South East 87.6% of Cambridgeshire South East 5.2% of Cambridgeshire North West
Huntingdon 95.6% of Huntingdon 0.0% of Cambridgeshire North West
Peterborough 100% of Peterborough 7.8% of Cambridgeshire North West


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Broadland 91.8% of Broadland 2.8% of Norfolk Mid
2.9% of Norfolk North
Great Yarmouth 100% of Great Yarmouth 2.8% of Norfolk South
Norfolk Mid 82.3% of Norfolk Mid 11.4% of Norfolk South West
Norfolk North 97.1% of Norfolk North 8.2% of Broadland
Norfolk North West 100% of Norfolk North West 2.8% of Norfolk South West
Norfolk South 83.8% of Norfolk South 14.8% of Norfolk Mid
Norfolk South West 85.8% of Norfolk South West 7.4% of Cambridgeshire North East
Norwich North 100% of Norwich North 11.2% of Norwich South
Norwich South 88.8% of Norwich South 13.4% of Norfolk South


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Corby 92.1% of Corby
Daventry and Lutterworth 75.3% of Daventry 11.6% of Leicestershire South
9.4% of Harborough
2.4% of Wellingborough
Kettering 100% of Kettering 4.3% of Wellingborough
Northampton North 99.1% of Northampton North 28.4% of Northampton South
Northampton South 71.6% of Northampton South 33.9% of Northamptonshire South
6.3% of Wellingborough
0.9% of Northampton North
Northamptonshire South 66.1% of Northamptonshire South 24.7% of Daventry
Wellingborough 87.0% of Wellingborough 7.9% of Corby


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bury St Edmunds 93.2% of Bury St Edmunds
Ipswich 100% of Ipswich 4.4% of Suffolk South
Suffolk Central and Ipswich North 98.8% of Suffolk Central and Ipswich North 0.5% of Suffolk Coastal
Suffolk Coastal 99.5% of Suffolk Coastal 1.2% of Suffolk Central and Ipswich North
Suffolk South 95.6% of Suffolk South 6.8% of Bury St Edmunds
Suffolk West Unchanged
Waveney Unchanged