Essex: New Constituency Boundaries 2018

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These tables show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2015 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should give the most accurate projection, since it reflects varying political behaviour across the seat.

Essex Change Table

  Old SeatsNew SeatsChangeDisappearSwitch OutSwitch InFresh

The table shows how the various changes affect each party in this region. The total old and new seats are shown for each party, as well as their difference ('Change'). The change in seats is also explained through the four explanations:

The old seats which are disappearing are: Witham.


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Aylesbury 81.0% of Aylesbury 19.6% of Buckingham
Beaconsfield Unchanged
Buckingham 80.4% of Buckingham 11.7% of Milton Keynes North
8.7% of Milton Keynes South
Chesham and Amersham 100% of Chesham and Amersham 10.9% of Aylesbury
Milton Keynes Bletchley 68.0% of Milton Keynes South 19.2% of Milton Keynes North
Milton Keynes Newport Pagnell 69.2% of Milton Keynes North 23.3% of Milton Keynes South
Wycombe 100% of Wycombe 8.1% of Aylesbury


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Basildon and Billericay 73.2% of Basildon and Billericay 29.7% of Rayleigh and Wickford
6.5% of Maldon
Basildon South and East Thurrock 75.3% of Basildon South and East Thurrock 26.8% of Basildon and Billericay
10.3% of Brentwood and Ongar
Braintree 84.8% of Braintree 20.3% of Witham
Brentwood and Ongar 82.1% of Brentwood and Ongar 22.0% of Saffron Walden
Castle Point 85.5% of Castle Point 24.7% of Basildon South and East Thurrock
Chelmsford Unchanged
Colchester 100% of Colchester 2.7% of Harwich and North Essex
Epping Forest Unchanged
Essex North East 73.3% of Harwich and North Essex 29.9% of Witham
11.2% of Clacton
Harlow 100% of Harlow 7.6% of Brentwood and Ongar
Harwich and Clacton 88.8% of Clacton 24.1% of Harwich and North Essex
Rayleigh and Woodham Ferrers 65.7% of Rayleigh and Wickford 34.2% of Maldon
Rochford and Southend East 100% of Rochford and Southend East 4.6% of Rayleigh and Wickford
Saffron Walden 78.0% of Saffron Walden 15.2% of Braintree
Southend West 100% of Southend West 14.5% of Castle Point
Thurrock Unchanged
Witham and Maldon 59.3% of Maldon 49.8% of Witham


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Broxbourne 100% of Broxbourne 2.8% of Hertford and Stortford
Hemel Hempstead 97.0% of Hemel Hempstead 3.6% of Watford
2.8% of St Albans
Hertford and Stortford 97.2% of Hertford and Stortford
Hertfordshire North East 89.4% of Hertfordshire North East 11.6% of Cambridgeshire South
Hertfordshire South West 89.2% of Hertfordshire South West 3.0% of Hemel Hempstead
Hertsmere 100% of Hertsmere 4.5% of Watford
1.8% of Hertfordshire South West
Hitchin and Harpenden Unchanged
St Albans 97.2% of St Albans 11.1% of Watford
0.1% of Welwyn Hatfield
Stevenage 100% of Stevenage 5.5% of Hertfordshire North East
Watford 80.8% of Watford 9.0% of Hertfordshire South West
Welwyn Hatfield 99.9% of Welwyn Hatfield 5.1% of Hertfordshire North East