Humberside: New Constituency Boundaries 2018

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These tables show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2015 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should give the most accurate projection, since it reflects varying political behaviour across the seat.

Humberside Change Table

  Old SeatsNew SeatsChangeDisappearSwitch OutSwitch InFresh

The table shows how the various changes affect each party in this region. The total old and new seats are shown for each party, as well as their difference ('Change'). The change in seats is also explained through the four explanations:

The old seats which are disappearing are: Great Grimsby; Haltemprice and Howden; Penistone and Stocksbridge.

The old seats which are lost to another party are: Sheffield Hallam.

The new seats which are gained from another party are: Sheffield Hallam and Stocksbridge.

The new seats which are freshly created are: Grimsby North and Barton.

Humber area

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Beverley and Holderness Unchanged
Goole 60.8% of Brigg and Goole 53.5% of Haltemprice and Howden
Grimsby North and Barton 44.4% of Cleethorpes 44.9% of Great Grimsby
21.4% of Brigg and Goole
Grimsby South and Cleethorpes 55.6% of Cleethorpes 55.1% of Great Grimsby
Kingston upon Hull Central 65.9% of Hull North 27.0% of Hull West and Hessle
22.1% of Hull East
Kingston upon Hull East 77.9% of Hull East 34.1% of Hull North
Kingston upon Hull West and Haltemprice 73.0% of Hull West and Hessle 46.5% of Haltemprice and Howden
Scunthorpe 100% of Scunthorpe 17.9% of Brigg and Goole
Yorkshire East Unchanged


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Boston and Skegness 99.5% of Boston and Skegness 7.1% of Sleaford and North Hykeham
Gainsborough Unchanged
Grantham and Stamford 98.4% of Grantham and Stamford 0.5% of Sleaford and North Hykeham
Lincoln 90.2% of Lincoln 15.4% of Sleaford and North Hykeham
Louth and Horncastle 100% of Louth and Horncastle 0.5% of Boston and Skegness
Sleaford 77.0% of Sleaford and North Hykeham 9.8% of Lincoln
1.6% of Grantham and Stamford
South Holland and The Deepings Unchanged

South Yorkshire

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Barnsley Central 100% of Barnsley Central 11.5% of Penistone and Stocksbridge
10.7% of Barnsley East
Barnsley East and Hemsworth 63.3% of Barnsley East 33.0% of Hemsworth
11.4% of Wentworth and Dearne
Doncaster Central 97.5% of Doncaster Central 6.5% of Doncaster North
Doncaster East 63.7% of Don Valley 37.6% of Doncaster North
Doncaster West 55.9% of Doncaster North 36.3% of Don Valley
10.2% of Wentworth and Dearne
2.5% of Doncaster Central
Rother Valley 61.2% of Rother Valley 39.6% of Sheffield South East
Rotherham 56.4% of Rotherham 38.8% of Rother Valley
12.6% of Wentworth and Dearne
Sheffield Central and West 61.9% of Sheffield Central 42.1% of Sheffield Hallam
Sheffield East 41.6% of Sheffield South East 40.2% of Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough
19.8% of Sheffield Heeley
14.9% of Rotherham
Sheffield Hallam and Stocksbridge 57.9% of Sheffield Hallam 34.0% of Penistone and Stocksbridge
20.5% of Sheffield Heeley
Sheffield North and Ecclesfield 59.8% of Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 41.1% of Penistone and Stocksbridge
14.7% of Rotherham
Sheffield South 59.7% of Sheffield Heeley 38.1% of Sheffield Central
18.8% of Sheffield South East
Wentworth and Dearne 65.8% of Wentworth and Dearne 26.0% of Barnsley East
13.9% of Rotherham