Lancashire: New Constituency Boundaries 2018

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These tables show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2015 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should give the most accurate projection, since it reflects varying political behaviour across the seat.

Lancashire Change Table

  Old SeatsNew SeatsChangeDisappearSwitch OutSwitch InFresh

The table shows how the various changes affect each party in this region. The total old and new seats are shown for each party, as well as their difference ('Change'). The change in seats is also explained through the four explanations:

The old seats which are disappearing are: Lancaster and Fleetwood; Liverpool Walton; Pendle; Wirral South.

The old seats which are lost to another party are: Morecambe and Lunesdale; Southport; Wirral West.

The new seats which are gained from another party are: Lancaster and Morecambe; Southport; Bebington and Heswall.


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Accrington 87.7% of Hyndburn 20.2% of Burnley
Blackburn 100% of Blackburn 5.8% of Rossendale and Darwen
Blackpool North and Fleetwood 77.0% of Blackpool North and Cleveleys 29.9% of Lancaster and Fleetwood
11.3% of Wyre and Preston North
Blackpool South 100% of Blackpool South 23.0% of Blackpool North and Cleveleys
10.1% of Fylde
Burnley 79.8% of Burnley 40.9% of Pendle
Chorley Unchanged
Clitheroe and Colne 52.7% of Ribble Valley 59.1% of Pendle
Fylde 89.9% of Fylde 21.1% of Wyre and Preston North
Lancashire North 36.5% of Wyre and Preston North 28.9% of Lancaster and Fleetwood
20.8% of Ribble Valley
20.7% of Morecambe and Lunesdale
0.3% of Preston
Lancashire West 100% of Lancashire West 9.1% of Ribble South
Lancaster and Morecambe 79.3% of Morecambe and Lunesdale 41.2% of Lancaster and Fleetwood
Preston 99.7% of Preston 31.0% of Wyre and Preston North
Ribble South 76.1% of Ribble South 26.4% of Ribble Valley
Rossendale and Darwen 94.2% of Rossendale and Darwen 12.3% of Hyndburn


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bebington and Heswall 77.7% of Wirral West 59.4% of Wirral South
Birkenhead 100% of Birkenhead 21.1% of Wirral South
Bootle 85.0% of Bootle 33.1% of Liverpool Walton
Garston and Halewood Unchanged
Knowsley Unchanged
Liverpool Riverside 88.1% of Liverpool Riverside 31.0% of Liverpool Walton
Liverpool Wavertree 100% of Liverpool Wavertree 15.6% of Liverpool West Derby
11.9% of Liverpool Riverside
Liverpool West Derby 84.4% of Liverpool West Derby 35.8% of Liverpool Walton
Sefton Central 100% of Sefton Central 15.0% of Bootle
Southport 100% of Southport 14.8% of Ribble South
St Helens North Unchanged
St Helens South and Whiston Unchanged
Wallasey 100% of Wallasey 22.3% of Wirral West