North East: New Constituency Boundaries 2018

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These tables show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2017 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should give the most accurate projection, since it reflects varying political behaviour across the seat.

North East Change Table

  Old SeatsNew SeatsChangeDisappearSwitch OutSwitch InFresh

The table shows how the various changes affect each party in this region. The total old and new seats are shown for each party, as well as their difference ('Change'). The change in seats is also explained through the four explanations:

The old seats which are disappearing are: Houghton and Sunderland South; Middlesbrough; Newcastle upon Tyne Central; Stockton North; Wansbeck.

The new seats which are freshly created are: Middlesbrough West and Stockton East.


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bishop Auckland 90.3% of Bishop Auckland 11.7% of Sedgefield
9.4% of Durham North West
0.5% of Durham, City of
Darlington 100% of Darlington 17.5% of Sedgefield
Durham East 70.8% of Sedgefield 18.1% of Hartlepool
19.7% of Easington
14.7% of Durham, City of
Durham North and Chester-le-Street 100% of Durham North 10.5% of Blaydon
Durham West and Teesdale 78.6% of Durham North West 20.6% of Blaydon
9.7% of Bishop Auckland
Durham, City of 84.9% of Durham, City of 12.8% of Houghton and Sunderland South
12.0% of Durham North West
Easington and Houghton 80.3% of Easington 37.6% of Houghton and Sunderland South

Newcastle area

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Blaydon 59.9% of Blaydon 32.1% of Newcastle upon Tyne North
26.2% of Newcastle upon Tyne Central
Gateshead 100% of Gateshead 13.4% of Washington and Sunderland West
9.9% of Jarrow
Jarrow 67.8% of Jarrow 36.8% of Washington and Sunderland West
10.0% of South Shields
Newcastle upon Tyne East 100% of Newcastle upon Tyne East 20.1% of Newcastle upon Tyne Central
10.4% of Newcastle upon Tyne North
Newcastle upon Tyne North West 57.5% of Newcastle upon Tyne North 53.8% of Newcastle upon Tyne Central
5.7% of Hexham
South Shields 90.0% of South Shields 22.3% of Jarrow
Sunderland Central Unchanged
Sunderland West 49.8% of Washington and Sunderland West 49.5% of Houghton and Sunderland South
9.0% of Blaydon
Tynemouth Unchanged
Tyneside North Unchanged


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Berwick and Ashington 86.6% of Berwick-upon-Tweed 45.5% of Wansbeck
Blyth Valley 100% of Blyth Valley 28.6% of Wansbeck
Hexham and Morpeth 94.3% of Hexham 25.9% of Wansbeck
13.4% of Berwick-upon-Tweed


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Hartlepool and Billingham 81.9% of Hartlepool 33.6% of Stockton North
Middlesbrough North East and Redcar 76.4% of Redcar 41.2% of Middlesbrough
8.3% of Middlesbrough South and Cleveland East
Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 82.7% of Middlesbrough South and Cleveland East 23.6% of Redcar
5.3% of Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough West and Stockton East 44.9% of Stockton South 53.5% of Middlesbrough
13.1% of Stockton North
9.0% of Middlesbrough South and Cleveland East
Stockton West 55.1% of Stockton South 53.3% of Stockton North