Severn: New Constituency Boundaries 2018

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These tables show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2015 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should give the most accurate projection, since it reflects varying political behaviour across the seat.

Severn Change Table

  Old SeatsNew SeatsChangeDisappearSwitch OutSwitch InFresh

The table shows how the various changes affect each party in this region. The total old and new seats are shown for each party, as well as their difference ('Change'). The change in seats is also explained through the four explanations:

The old seats which are disappearing are: Herefordshire North; Stoke-on-Trent Central; Tatton.

The old seats which are lost to another party are: Chester, City of; Telford.

The new seats which are gained from another party are: Chester, City of; Telford.


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Chester, City of 99.2% of Chester, City of 2.8% of Ellesmere Port and Neston
2.5% of Eddisbury
Congleton 100% of Congleton 0.3% of Eddisbury
Crewe and Nantwich 100% of Crewe and Nantwich 0.2% of Eddisbury
Eddisbury and Northwich 61.0% of Eddisbury 34.9% of Weaver Vale
11.1% of Tatton
Ellesmere Port and Neston 97.2% of Ellesmere Port and Neston 19.4% of Wirral South
0.5% of Chester, City of
Halton 100% of Halton 6.7% of Weaver Vale
Macclesfield 76.9% of Macclesfield 31.9% of Tatton
Warrington North 100% of Warrington North 7.4% of Warrington South
Warrington South 92.6% of Warrington South
Weaver Vale 58.4% of Weaver Vale 36.1% of Eddisbury
15.0% of Tatton
0.3% of Chester, City of

Hereford and Worcestershire

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bromsgrove and Droitwich 74.7% of Bromsgrove 33.2% of Worcestershire Mid
Evesham and South Warwickshire 55.4% of Worcestershire Mid 25.1% of Stratford-on-Avon
19.4% of Worcestershire West
7.1% of Redditch
2.1% of Kenilworth and Southam
Hereford and South Herefordshire 100% of Hereford and South Herefordshire 13.9% of Herefordshire North
Malvern and Ledbury 80.6% of Worcestershire West 27.3% of Herefordshire North
2.7% of Worcestershire Mid
Redditch 92.9% of Redditch 25.3% of Bromsgrove
Worcester 100% of Worcester 5.8% of Worcestershire Mid
Wyre Forest 100% of Wyre Forest 2.9% of Worcestershire Mid


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bridgnorth, Wellington and The Wrekin 81.7% of Wrekin, The 36.5% of Ludlow
Ludlow and Leominster 60.0% of Ludlow 58.9% of Herefordshire North
Shrewsbury 100% of Shrewsbury and Atcham 3.5% of Ludlow
Shropshire North Unchanged
Telford 100% of Telford 18.3% of Wrekin, The


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Burton Unchanged
Cannock Chase Unchanged
Lichfield 96.1% of Lichfield 7.4% of Stafford
0.4% of Tamworth
Newcastle-under-Lyme 88.3% of Newcastle-under-Lyme 21.4% of Stoke-on-Trent North
4.3% of Staffordshire Moorlands
Stafford 92.6% of Stafford 15.2% of Stone
Staffordshire Moorlands 95.7% of Staffordshire Moorlands 28.0% of Stone
Staffordshire South Unchanged
Staffordshire West 56.8% of Stone 39.1% of Stoke-on-Trent South
11.7% of Newcastle-under-Lyme
0.0% of Stoke-on-Trent Central
Stoke-on-Trent North 78.6% of Stoke-on-Trent North 38.7% of Stoke-on-Trent Central
Stoke-on-Trent South 60.9% of Stoke-on-Trent South 61.3% of Stoke-on-Trent Central
Tamworth 99.6% of Tamworth 3.9% of Lichfield