South: New Constituency Boundaries 2018

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These tables show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2015 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should give the most accurate projection, since it reflects varying political behaviour across the seat.

South Change Table

  Old SeatsNew SeatsChangeDisappearSwitch OutSwitch InFresh

The table shows how the various changes affect each party in this region. The total old and new seats are shown for each party, as well as their difference ('Change'). The change in seats is also explained through the four explanations:

The old seats which are disappearing are: Meon Valley.

The old seats which are lost to another party are: Southampton Test.

The new seats which are gained from another party are: Southampton Test.

The new seats which are freshly created are: Isle of Wight West.


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bracknell Unchanged
Maidenhead Unchanged
Newbury 97.3% of Newbury
Reading East 96.5% of Reading East 8.5% of Wokingham
Reading West 100% of Reading West 3.5% of Reading East
Slough 93.0% of Slough
Windsor 100% of Windsor 7.0% of Slough
Wokingham 91.5% of Wokingham 2.7% of Newbury


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Aldershot 89.6% of Aldershot 16.9% of Hampshire North East
Basingstoke Unchanged
Eastleigh Unchanged
Fareham 100% of Fareham 3.1% of Meon Valley
Gosport Unchanged
Hampshire East 79.8% of Hampshire East 23.1% of Meon Valley
Hampshire North East 70.0% of Hampshire North East 20.2% of Hampshire East
10.4% of Aldershot
Hampshire North West 88.3% of Hampshire North West 13.1% of Hampshire North East
Havant 79.1% of Havant 31.8% of Meon Valley
Isle of Wight East 50.5% of Isle of Wight
Isle of Wight West 49.5% of Isle of Wight
New Forest East 93.8% of New Forest East 9.1% of Romsey and Southampton North
New Forest West 100% of New Forest West 6.2% of New Forest East
Portsmouth North 86.2% of Portsmouth North 20.9% of Havant
Portsmouth South 100% of Portsmouth South 13.8% of Portsmouth North
Southampton Itchen 100% of Southampton Itchen 12.9% of Southampton Test
Southampton Test 87.1% of Southampton Test 25.5% of Romsey and Southampton North
Test Valley 65.4% of Romsey and Southampton North 34.1% of Winchester
11.7% of Hampshire North West
Winchester 65.9% of Winchester 42.0% of Meon Valley


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Epsom and Ewell Unchanged
Esher and Walton 94.4% of Esher and Walton
Guildford Unchanged
Mole Valley 95.3% of Mole Valley 5.6% of Esher and Walton
Reigate Unchanged
Runnymede and Weybridge 94.0% of Runnymede and Weybridge 7.4% of Woking
Spelthorne 100% of Spelthorne 6.0% of Runnymede and Weybridge
Surrey East Unchanged
Surrey Heath 96.6% of Surrey Heath
Surrey South West Unchanged
Woking 92.6% of Woking 4.7% of Mole Valley
3.4% of Surrey Heath