West Midlands: New Constituency Boundaries 2018

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These tables show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2017 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should give the most accurate projection, since it reflects varying political behaviour across the seat.

West Midlands Change Table

  Old SeatsNew SeatsChangeDisappearSwitch OutSwitch InFresh

The table shows how the various changes affect each party in this region. The total old and new seats are shown for each party, as well as their difference ('Change'). The change in seats is also explained through the four explanations:

The old seats which are disappearing are: Birmingham Hall Green; Dudley North; Herefordshire North; Kenilworth and Southam; Stoke-on-Trent Central; Walsall North.

The old seats which are lost to another party are: Coventry North West; Halesowen and Rowley Regis; Stoke-on-Trent South; Telford; Warwick and Leamington.

The new seats which are gained from another party are: Coventry West and Meriden; Birmingham Selly Oak and Halesowen; Stoke-on-Trent South; Telford; Kenilworth and Leamington.


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Birmingham Brandwood 52.6% of Birmingham Selly Oak 26.0% of Birmingham Hall Green
23.2% of Birmingham Northfield
Birmingham Edgbaston 73.3% of Birmingham Edgbaston 24.8% of Birmingham Hall Green
12.8% of Warley
Birmingham Erdington 74.4% of Birmingham Erdington 25.8% of Birmingham Perry Barr
13.6% of Walsall South
Birmingham Hodge Hill Unchanged
Birmingham Ladywood 73.5% of Birmingham Ladywood 25.6% of Birmingham Erdington
14.2% of Warley
Birmingham Northfield 52.5% of Birmingham Northfield 26.9% of Birmingham Selly Oak
23.8% of Birmingham Hall Green
Birmingham Perry Barr 74.2% of Birmingham Perry Barr 26.5% of Birmingham Ladywood
13.8% of West Bromwich East
Birmingham Selly Oak and Halesowen 44.4% of Halesowen and Rowley Regis 24.3% of Birmingham Northfield
26.7% of Birmingham Edgbaston
20.5% of Birmingham Selly Oak
Birmingham Yardley 77.4% of Birmingham Yardley 25.3% of Birmingham Hall Green
Sutton Coldfield Unchanged

Black Country

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Aldridge, Brownhills and Bloxwich 100% of Aldridge-Brownhills 28.4% of Walsall North
Bromwich West 73.3% of West Bromwich East 28.6% of West Bromwich West
14.6% of Warley
Dudley East and Tipton 57.6% of West Bromwich West 50.2% of Dudley North
13.0% of West Bromwich East
Dudley West 83.7% of Dudley South 17.2% of Dudley North
14.6% of Stourbridge
Stourbridge 85.4% of Stourbridge 16.3% of Dudley South
13.8% of Halesowen and Rowley Regis
Walsall Central 86.4% of Walsall South 27.3% of Walsall North
Warley 58.3% of Warley 41.8% of Halesowen and Rowley Regis
13.8% of West Bromwich West
Wednesfield and Willenhall 70.7% of Wolverhampton North East 44.3% of Walsall North
10.9% of Wolverhampton South West
Wolverhampton South and Coseley 87.2% of Wolverhampton South East 32.6% of Dudley North
Wolverhampton West 89.1% of Wolverhampton South West 29.3% of Wolverhampton North East
12.8% of Wolverhampton South East

Coventry and Solihull

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Chelmsley Wood and Solihull North 54.2% of Meriden 25.3% of Solihull
22.6% of Birmingham Yardley
Coventry North East Unchanged
Coventry South 65.9% of Coventry South 47.6% of Coventry North West
Coventry West and Meriden 52.4% of Coventry North West 34.1% of Coventry South
22.4% of Meriden
Shirley and Solihull South 74.7% of Solihull 23.4% of Meriden
3.7% of Stratford-on-Avon

Hereford and Worcestershire

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bromsgrove and Droitwich 74.7% of Bromsgrove 33.2% of Worcestershire Mid
Evesham and South Warwickshire 55.4% of Worcestershire Mid 25.1% of Stratford-on-Avon
19.4% of Worcestershire West
7.1% of Redditch
2.1% of Kenilworth and Southam
Hereford and South Herefordshire 100% of Hereford and South Herefordshire 13.9% of Herefordshire North
Malvern and Ledbury 80.6% of Worcestershire West 27.3% of Herefordshire North
2.7% of Worcestershire Mid
Redditch 92.9% of Redditch 25.3% of Bromsgrove
Worcester 100% of Worcester 5.8% of Worcestershire Mid
Wyre Forest 100% of Wyre Forest 2.9% of Worcestershire Mid


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bridgnorth, Wellington and The Wrekin 81.7% of Wrekin, The 36.5% of Ludlow
Ludlow and Leominster 60.0% of Ludlow 58.9% of Herefordshire North
Shrewsbury 100% of Shrewsbury and Atcham 3.5% of Ludlow
Shropshire North Unchanged
Telford 100% of Telford 18.3% of Wrekin, The


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Burton Unchanged
Cannock Chase Unchanged
Lichfield 96.1% of Lichfield 7.4% of Stafford
0.4% of Tamworth
Newcastle-under-Lyme 88.3% of Newcastle-under-Lyme 21.4% of Stoke-on-Trent North
4.3% of Staffordshire Moorlands
Stafford 92.6% of Stafford 15.2% of Stone
Staffordshire Moorlands 95.7% of Staffordshire Moorlands 28.0% of Stone
Staffordshire South Unchanged
Staffordshire West 56.8% of Stone 39.1% of Stoke-on-Trent South
11.7% of Newcastle-under-Lyme
0.0% of Stoke-on-Trent Central
Stoke-on-Trent North 78.6% of Stoke-on-Trent North 38.7% of Stoke-on-Trent Central
Stoke-on-Trent South 60.9% of Stoke-on-Trent South 61.3% of Stoke-on-Trent Central
Tamworth 99.6% of Tamworth 3.9% of Lichfield


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Kenilworth and Leamington 66.1% of Warwick and Leamington 48.1% of Kenilworth and Southam
Nuneaton 89.5% of Nuneaton 25.5% of Rugby
Rugby and Southam 74.5% of Rugby 41.3% of Kenilworth and Southam
0.3% of Stratford-on-Avon
Warwick and Stratford-on-Avon 70.9% of Stratford-on-Avon 33.9% of Warwick and Leamington
8.4% of Kenilworth and Southam
Warwickshire North 100% of Warwickshire North 10.5% of Nuneaton