Yorkshire: New Constituency Boundaries 2018

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These tables show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2015 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should give the most accurate projection, since it reflects varying political behaviour across the seat.

Yorkshire Change Table

  Old SeatsNew SeatsChangeDisappearSwitch OutSwitch InFresh

The table shows how the various changes affect each party in this region. The total old and new seats are shown for each party, as well as their difference ('Change'). The change in seats is also explained through the four explanations:

The old seats which are disappearing are: Bradford South; Leeds West.

The old seats which are lost to another party are: Leeds North West; Morley and Outwood; Pudsey.

The new seats which are gained from another party are: Leeds North West; Batley and Morley; Pudsey.

North Yorkshire

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Harrogate and Knaresborough 93.3% of Harrogate and Knaresborough 3.4% of Skipton and Ripon
Richmond 93.8% of Richmond 0.7% of Thirsk and Malton
Scarborough and Whitby 100% of Scarborough and Whitby 7.1% of Thirsk and Malton
Selby and Ainsty 93.9% of Selby and Ainsty 6.7% of Harrogate and Knaresborough
Skipton and Ripon 96.6% of Skipton and Ripon
Thirsk and Malton 92.2% of Thirsk and Malton 6.2% of Richmond
York Central 98.8% of York Central 5.4% of York Outer
York Outer 94.6% of York Outer 1.2% of York Central

West Yorkshire

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Batley and Morley 68.2% of Morley and Outwood 32.6% of Batley and Spen
Bradford East 100% of Bradford East 16.1% of Bradford West
Bradford West 83.9% of Bradford West 34.3% of Bradford South
Calder Valley 56.1% of Calder Valley 50.8% of Halifax
Colne Valley 82.2% of Colne Valley 13.4% of Penistone and Stocksbridge
Dewsbury 100% of Dewsbury 0.1% of Colne Valley
0.1% of Huddersfield
Elmet and Rothwell Unchanged
Halifax 49.2% of Halifax 43.9% of Calder Valley
17.9% of Bradford South
Huddersfield 99.9% of Huddersfield 17.7% of Colne Valley
Keighley 100% of Keighley 13.3% of Shipley
Leeds Central 81.6% of Leeds Central 27.4% of Leeds West
Leeds East 100% of Leeds East 18.4% of Leeds Central
Leeds North East 100% of Leeds North East 16.1% of Leeds North West
Leeds North West 83.9% of Leeds North West 24.3% of Pudsey
22.5% of Leeds West
Normanton, Castleford and Outwood 58.6% of Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford 31.8% of Morley and Outwood
3.0% of Selby and Ainsty
Pontefract 52.9% of Hemsworth 41.4% of Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford
3.1% of Selby and Ainsty
Pudsey 49.8% of Pudsey 50.1% of Leeds West
16.2% of Bradford South
Shipley 86.7% of Shipley 25.9% of Pudsey
Spen 67.4% of Batley and Spen 31.6% of Bradford South
Wakefield 100% of Wakefield 14.1% of Hemsworth