North East: Majority Sorted Seats

North East Prediction

Party2019 Votes2019 SeatsPred VotesGainsLossesNet ChangePred Seats
CON 38.3%10 28.4%09-91
LAB 42.6%19 51.7%90+928
LIB 6.8%0 7.0%00+00
Reform 8.1%0 4.0%00+00
Green 2.4%0 6.2%00+00
Other 1.9%0 2.7%00+00

This page shows all the seats in North East sorted by the predicted difference between Labour and Conservative votes. The safest Labour seat, Newcastle upon Tyne East, is at the top, and the strongest Conservative seat, Berwick-upon-Tweed, is at the bottom. The first two columns, 'LAB Seats' and 'CON Seats', show how many seats each big party wins if they won that seat and all easier seats, assuming the other smaller parties' votes stay constant. Either big party needs 326 seats to have a majority. So Labour needs to win all the seats down to Berwick-upon-Tweed (prediction: CON), and the Conservatives need to win all their seats up to Darlington (prediction: LAB).

The seats between those two limits are the key battleground for the next general election.

More information and a full description of the majority-sorted seat list is here.

List of North East seats with predictions

SeatMP at 2019ElectorateTurn
33522Newcastle upon Tyne East Nick Brown63,79668.
57498Newcastle upon Tyne Central Chi Onwurah57,84564.818.
83472South Shields Emma Lewell-Buck62,79360.319.
91464Middlesbrough Andy McDonald60,76456.121.957.
94461Gateshead Ian Mearns64,44959.
100455Tyneside North Mary Glindon78,90263.923.
102453Jarrow Kate Osborne65,10362.622.755.
103452Easington Grahame Morris61,18256.523.
118437Durham, City of Mary Foy71,27168.622.552.912.
133422Newcastle upon Tyne North Catherine McKinnell68,48668.624.853.
139416Blaydon Liz Twist67,85367.324.753.
140415Durham North Kevan Jones66,79663.225.553.
141414Washington and Sunderland West Sharon Hodgson66,27856.625.553.
156399Tynemouth Alan Campbell77,26172.528.
161394Sunderland Central Julie Elliott72,68059.826.852.
163392Houghton and Sunderland South Bridget Phillipson68,83557.826.452.
169386Hartlepool Mike Hill70,85557.926.
194361Stockton North Alex Cunningham66,64961.830.651.
195360Wansbeck Ian Lavery63,33964.029.750.
205350Blyth Valley Ian Levy64,42963.430.950.
207348Durham North West Richard Holden72,16666.030.849.
227328Darlington Peter Gibson66,39765.533.849.
243312Redcar Jacob Young65,86462.033.847.
246309Stockton South Matt Vickers76,87071.336.
252303Sedgefield Paul Howell64,32564.634.746.
297258Bishop Auckland Dehenna Davison68,17065.738.945.
310245Hexham Guy Opperman61,32475.338.542.
317238Middlesbrough South and Cleveland East Simon Clarke72,34866.140.943.
354201Berwick-upon-Tweed Anne-Marie Trevelyan59,93970.339.735.714.

Note that the MP's name given is the person who won the seat in 2019. That person may not necessarily be the candidate for the same party in the next election.