North: New Constituency Boundaries 2013

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These table show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2010 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are now calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should be more accurate than the earlier implied results which assumed each constituency was homogeneous.


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Barrow and Furness 99.7% of Barrow and Furness 16.2% of Copeland
Carlisle 92.7% of Carlisle 26.9% of Penrith and The Border
Cumbria West 73.5% of Copeland 55.0% of Workington
Penrith and Solway 60.1% of Penrith and The Border 45.0% of Workington
10.3% of Copeland
7.3% of Carlisle
Westmorland and Lonsdale 100% of Westmorland and Lonsdale 13.0% of Penrith and The Border
0.3% of Barrow and Furness


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bishop Auckland 100% of Bishop Auckland 15.4% of Sedgefield
City of Durham 100% of Durham, City of 11.0% of Sedgefield
Darlington 100% of Darlington 16.3% of Sedgefield
Durham North 100% of Durham North 8.8% of Durham North West
Durham North West 91.2% of Durham North West 10.7% of Blaydon
Easington 92.0% of Easington 22.3% of Sedgefield

Newcastle area

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Gateshead East and Jarrow 78.0% of Jarrow 41.1% of Gateshead
Gateshead West 58.9% of Gateshead 50.7% of Blaydon
Houghton and Sunderland South 100% of Houghton and Sunderland South 12.3% of Washington and Sunderland West
Newcastle upon Tyne Central 100% of Newcastle upon Tyne Central 21.5% of Newcastle upon Tyne North
Newcastle upon Tyne East 100% of Newcastle upon Tyne East 9.9% of Tyneside North
Newcastle upon Tyne North and Cramlington 67.2% of Newcastle upon Tyne North 36.7% of Blyth Valley
9.7% of Tyneside North
South Shields 100% of South Shields 22.0% of Jarrow
Sunderland Central Unchanged
Tynemouth 89.5% of Tynemouth 10.1% of Tyneside North
Tyneside North 70.3% of Tyneside North 10.5% of Tynemouth
11.4% of Newcastle upon Tyne North
6.4% of Blyth Valley
Washington 87.7% of Washington and Sunderland West 19.3% of Blaydon


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Berwick, Alnwick and Morpeth 97.6% of Berwick-upon-Tweed 30.2% of Wansbeck
Blyth and Ashington 69.8% of Wansbeck 56.9% of Blyth Valley
Hexham 100% of Hexham 19.3% of Blaydon
2.4% of Berwick-upon-Tweed


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Hartlepool 100% of Hartlepool 8.0% of Easington
1.4% of Sedgefield
Middlesbrough 87.1% of Middlesbrough 23.6% of Stockton South
Middlesbrough South and Cleveland East 93.4% of Middlesbrough South and Cleveland East 7.2% of Middlesbrough
Redcar 100% of Redcar 6.6% of Middlesbrough South and Cleveland East
5.7% of Middlesbrough
Stockton North and Aycliffe 75.3% of Stockton North 33.7% of Sedgefield
Stockton South 76.4% of Stockton South 24.7% of Stockton North