Anglia: New Constituency Boundaries 2023

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These tables show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2019 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should give the most accurate projection, since it reflects varying political behaviour across the seat.

Anglia Change Table

PartyOld SeatsNew SeatsChangeDisappearSwitch OutSwitch InFresh

The table shows how the various changes affect each party in this area. The total old and new seats are shown for each party, as well as their difference ('Change'). The change in seats is also explained through the four explanations:

The new seats which are freshly created are: Harpenden and Berkhamsted; Haverhill and Halstead; St Neots.


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bedford 98.0% of Bedford 1.0% of Bedfordshire North East
Bedfordshire Mid 80.7% of Bedfordshire Mid 0.1% of Bedford
Bedfordshire North 79.1% of Bedfordshire North East 3.9% of Bedfordshire Mid
1.9% of Bedford
Dunstable and Leighton Buzzard 92.6% of Bedfordshire South West 0.2% of Luton South
Luton North 100% of Luton North 7.5% of Luton South
Luton South and South Bedfordshire 92.4% of Luton South 7.4% of Bedfordshire South West


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Cambridge 92.4% of Cambridge 0.0% of Cambridgeshire South
Cambridgeshire East 66.7% of Cambridgeshire South East 15.7% of Cambridgeshire North East
5.7% of Cambridgeshire South
Cambridgeshire North East 84.3% of Cambridgeshire North East
Cambridgeshire North West 75.8% of Cambridgeshire North West 1.3% of Peterborough
Cambridgeshire South 61.9% of Cambridgeshire South 17.5% of Cambridgeshire South East
7.6% of Cambridge
Huntingdon 61.7% of Huntingdon 24.1% of Cambridgeshire North West
Peterborough 98.7% of Peterborough 0.1% of Cambridgeshire North West
St Neots 38.3% of Huntingdon 32.3% of Cambridgeshire South
15.8% of Cambridgeshire South East


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Basildon and Billericay 100% of Basildon and Billericay 9.1% of Basildon South and East Thurrock
Basildon South and East Thurrock 90.9% of Basildon South and East Thurrock 10.4% of Thurrock
Braintree 51.5% of Braintree 21.6% of Saffron Walden
9.4% of Witham
9.1% of Maldon
Brentwood 94.9% of Brentwood and Ongar
Castle Point 100% of Castle Point 10.6% of Southend West
Chelmsford 94.6% of Chelmsford
Clacton 100% of Clacton 0.8% of Harwich and North Essex
Colchester 86.1% of Colchester 3.1% of Harwich and North Essex
Epping Forest 97.6% of Epping Forest
Harlow 100% of Harlow 2.4% of Epping Forest
0.2% of Brentwood and Ongar
Harwich and North Essex 85.1% of Harwich and North Essex 13.9% of Colchester
Maldon 90.9% of Maldon 5.4% of Chelmsford
Rayleigh and Wickford 96.5% of Rayleigh and Wickford
Rochford and Southend East 68.2% of Rochford and Southend East 22.8% of Southend West
3.5% of Rayleigh and Wickford
Saffron Walden 78.4% of Saffron Walden 4.8% of Brentwood and Ongar
Southend West 66.7% of Southend West 31.8% of Rochford and Southend East
Thurrock 89.6% of Thurrock
Witham 90.6% of Witham 11.1% of Harwich and North Essex
2.6% of Braintree


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Broxbourne 94.0% of Broxbourne 8.3% of Hertford and Stortford
Harpenden and Berkhamsted 47.2% of Hitchin and Harpenden 35.8% of Hertfordshire South West
8.8% of Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead 85.7% of Hemel Hempstead 8.2% of Hertfordshire South West
Hertford and Stortford 91.7% of Hertford and Stortford
Hertfordshire North East Unchanged
Hertsmere 92.4% of Hertsmere 6.0% of Broxbourne
0.5% of Welwyn Hatfield
Hitchin 52.8% of Hitchin and Harpenden 19.9% of Bedfordshire North East
15.4% of Bedfordshire Mid
St Albans 95.7% of St Albans 0.0% of Welwyn Hatfield
Stevenage Unchanged
Three Rivers 56.1% of Hertfordshire South West 22.6% of Watford
5.4% of Hemel Hempstead
4.3% of St Albans
Watford 77.4% of Watford 7.6% of Hertsmere
Welwyn Hatfield 99.5% of Welwyn Hatfield


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Broadland 82.6% of Broadland 11.3% of Norfolk Mid
Great Yarmouth 100% of Great Yarmouth 9.5% of Norfolk North
Norfolk Mid 78.8% of Norfolk Mid 11.1% of Norfolk South West
2.4% of Norfolk South
Norfolk North 90.5% of Norfolk North 17.4% of Broadland
Norfolk North West 99.4% of Norfolk North West 5.1% of Norfolk South West
Norfolk South 88.5% of Norfolk South
Norfolk South West 83.9% of Norfolk South West 9.9% of Norfolk Mid
0.6% of Norfolk North West
Norwich North 100% of Norwich North 10.6% of Norwich South
Norwich South 89.4% of Norwich South 9.1% of Norfolk South


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bury St Edmunds and Newmarket 52.6% of Suffolk West 37.8% of Bury St Edmunds
Haverhill and Halstead 45.9% of Braintree 36.9% of Suffolk West
4.2% of Bury St Edmunds
4.6% of Suffolk South
Ipswich Unchanged
Ipswich North and Stowmarket 66.3% of Suffolk Central and Ipswich North 26.7% of Bury St Edmunds
Lowestoft 91.2% of Waveney
Suffolk Coastal 88.0% of Suffolk Coastal 3.1% of Suffolk Central and Ipswich North
Suffolk North 31.3% of Bury St Edmunds 30.5% of Suffolk Central and Ipswich North
12.0% of Suffolk Coastal
10.5% of Suffolk West
8.8% of Waveney
Suffolk South 95.4% of Suffolk South