Essex: New Constituency Boundaries 2006

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These table show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2005 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are now calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should be more accurate than the earlier implied results which assumed each constituency was homogeneous.

In Buckinghamshire, one seat (Milton Keynes North) switches from Conservative to Labour. In Essex, there is one new seat (Witham), which is Conservative.


New seat  Primary component  Secondary component
Aylesbury79.3% of Aylesbury9.3% of Buckingham
6.1% of Wycombe
Beaconsfield90.6% of Beaconsfield14.8% of Wycombe
Buckingham90.7% of Buckingham10.7% of Aylesbury
Chesham and Amersham89.4% of Chesham and Amersham9.8% of Aylesbury
Milton Keynes North83.9% of Milton Keynes North East16.2% of Milton Keynes South West
Milton Keynes South83.8% of Milton Keynes South West16.1% of Milton Keynes North East
Wycombe79.1% of Wycombe10.6% of Chesham and Amersham
9.4% of Beaconsfield
0.2% of Aylesbury


New seat  Primary component  Secondary component
Basildon and Billericay48.7% of Billericay35.3% of Basildon
Basildon South and East Thurrock64.7% of Basildon23.5% of Billericay
5.7% of Thurrock
Braintree56.6% of Braintree30.3% of Saffron Walden
Brentwood and Ongar99.2% of Brentwood and Ongar4.7% of Epping Forest
Castle PointUnchanged
Chelmsford76.5% of Chelmsford West21.5% of Maldon and Chelmsford East
Clacton78.9% of Harwich6.6% of Essex North
Colchester91.9% of Colchester
Epping Forest94.7% of Epping Forest1.4% of Harlow
Harlow98.6% of Harlow0.8% of Brentwood and Ongar
0.6% of Epping Forest
Harwich and North Essex74.2% of Essex North21.1% of Harwich
Maldon63.8% of Maldon and Chelmsford East28.4% of Rayleigh
2.9% of Chelmsford West
Rayleigh and Wickford71.6% of Rayleigh27.7% of Billericay
0.9% of Rochford and Southend East
Rochford and Southend East97.3% of Rochford and Southend East
Saffron Walden69.7% of Saffron Walden20.6% of Chelmsford West
Southend West100% of Southend West1.8% of Rochford and Southend East
Thurrock94.3% of Thurrock
Witham43.4% of Braintree19.2% of Essex North
14.7% of Maldon and Chelmsford East
8.1% of Colchester


New seat  Primary component  Secondary component
Hemel Hempstead98.4% of Hemel Hempstead
Hertford and Stortford99.1% of Hertford and Stortford
Hertfordshire North East96.4% of Hertfordshire North East2.5% of Stevenage
0.9% of Hertford and Stortford
Hertfordshire South West100% of Hertfordshire South West1.6% of Hemel Hempstead
Hitchin and Harpenden99.8% of Hitchin and Harpenden3.6% of Hertfordshire North East
0.1% of St Albans
St Albans99.9% of St Albans0.2% of Hitchin and Harpenden
0.0% of Watford
Stevenage97.5% of Stevenage
Welwyn HatfieldUnchanged