South West: New Constituency Boundaries 2006

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These table show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2005 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are now calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should be more accurate than the earlier implied results which assumed each constituency was homogeneous.

The main changes are the addition of one new seat in Cornwall (St Austell and Newquay) which should be a Lib Dem seat, and another new seat in Devon (Devon Central) which should be Conservative. Also the Devon seat of Devon West and Torridge is predicted to be a narrow Lib Dem gain from the old Conservative seat of the same name.


New seat  Primary component  Secondary component
Camborne and Redruth66.2% of Falmouth and Camborne14.1% of St Ives
3.4% of Truro and St Austell
Cornwall North72.6% of Cornwall North2.4% of Cornwall South East
Cornwall South East85.6% of Cornwall South East
St Austell and Newquay46.1% of Truro and St Austell27.4% of Cornwall North
12.0% of Cornwall South East
St Ives85.9% of St Ives
Truro and Falmouth50.4% of Truro and St Austell33.8% of Falmouth and Camborne


New seat  Primary component  Secondary component
Devon Central27.3% of Teignbridge22.2% of Tiverton and Honiton
17.1% of Devon West and Torridge
8.1% of Totnes
5.3% of Devon North
Devon East68.1% of Devon East17.2% of Tiverton and Honiton
9.2% of Exeter
Devon North94.7% of Devon North
Devon South West95.9% of Devon South West
Devon West and Torridge82.9% of Devon West and Torridge4.1% of Devon South West
Exeter90.8% of Exeter
Newton Abbot72.7% of Teignbridge4.1% of Totnes
Plymouth Moor View89.5% of Plymouth Devonport4.3% of Plymouth Sutton
Plymouth Sutton and Devonport95.7% of Plymouth Sutton10.5% of Plymouth Devonport
Tiverton and Honiton60.6% of Tiverton and Honiton31.9% of Devon East
Torbay94.4% of Torbay3.4% of Totnes
Totnes84.4% of Totnes5.6% of Torbay


New seat  Primary component  Secondary component
Bournemouth East94.2% of Bournemouth East17.5% of Bournemouth West
Bournemouth West82.5% of Bournemouth West11.0% of Dorset Mid and Poole North
7.2% of Poole
5.8% of Bournemouth East
Christchurch84.9% of Christchurch5.0% of Dorset North
Dorset Mid and Poole North78.4% of Dorset Mid and Poole North14.9% of Dorset North
Dorset North80.1% of Dorset North15.1% of Christchurch
Dorset SouthUnchanged
Dorset WestUnchanged
Poole92.8% of Poole10.5% of Dorset Mid and Poole North


New seat  Primary component  Secondary component
Bridgwater and West Somerset100% of Bridgwater4.7% of Taunton
Somerton and Frome97.5% of Somerton and Frome1.0% of Yeovil
Taunton Deane95.3% of Taunton
Yeovil99.0% of Yeovil2.5% of Somerton and Frome