New Constituency Boundaries for Wales 2006

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These table show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2005 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are now calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should be more accurate than the earlier implied results which assumed each constituency was homogeneous.

On that basis, only one seat "changes hands". This is the old seat of Caernarfon which mostly becomes the new seat of Arfon. Whereas Caernarfon was a strong PC seat, the new Arfon is a close PC-Lab marginal, with a Labour majority of 647 votes.

Full implied 2005 results for Wales are available.


New seat  Primary component  Secondary component
Aberconwy67.3% of Conwy20.7% of Meirionnydd Nant Conwy
Alyn and DeesideUnchanged
Clwyd South95.1% of Clwyd South
Clwyd West99.0% of Clwyd West2.4% of Clwyd South
Vale of Clwyd100% of Vale of Clwyd1.0% of Clwyd West


New seat  Primary component  Secondary component
Carmarthen East and Dinefwr97.5% of Carmarthen East and Dinefwr
Carmarthen West and Pembrokeshire South98.9% of Carmarthen West and Pembrokeshire South2.5% of Carmarthen East and Dinefwr
Ceredigion99.3% of Ceredigion
Preseli Pembrokeshire100% of Preseli Pembrokeshire1.1% of Carmarthen West and Pembrokeshire South
0.7% of Ceredigion


New seat  Primary component  Secondary component
Arfon53.1% of Caernarfon32.7% of Conwy
Dwyfor Meirionnydd79.3% of Meirionnydd Nant Conwy46.9% of Caernarfon
Ynys MonUnchanged

Mid Glamorgan and Gwent

New seat  Primary component  Secondary component
Blaenau GwentUnchanged
Bridgend91.0% of Bridgend
Caerphilly93.4% of Caerphilly
Cynon Valley100% of Cynon Valley6.1% of Pontypridd
Islwyn100% of Islwyn6.6% of Caerphilly
Merthyr Tydfil And RhymneyUnchanged
Newport EastUnchanged
Newport WestUnchanged
Ogmore100% of Ogmore4.5% of Bridgend
Pontypridd86.0% of Pontypridd


New seat  Primary component  Secondary component
Brecon and RadnorshireUnchanged
Montgomeryshire100% of Montgomeryshire2.5% of Clwyd South

South Glamorgan

New seat  Primary component  Secondary component
Cardiff CentralUnchanged
Cardiff NorthUnchanged
Cardiff South and Penarth100% of Cardiff South and Penarth4.8% of Vale of Glamorgan
Cardiff West100% of Cardiff West7.9% of Pontypridd
Vale of Glamorgan95.2% of Vale of Glamorgan4.5% of Bridgend

West Glamorgan

New seat  Primary component  Secondary component
Gower100% of Gower0.0% of Neath
Swansea EastUnchanged
Swansea WestUnchanged