East Midlands: New Constituency Boundaries 2018

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These tables show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2019 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should give the most accurate projection, since it reflects varying political behaviour across the seat.

East Midlands Change Table

PartyOld SeatsNew SeatsChangeDisappearSwitch OutSwitch InFresh

The table shows how the various changes affect each party in this area. The total old and new seats are shown for each party, as well as their difference ('Change'). The change in seats is also explained through the four explanations:

The old seats which are disappearing are: Derbyshire Mid; Nottingham East.

The old seats which are lost to another party are: Derby North; Derby South; Gedling.

The new seats which are gained from another party are: Derby West; Derby East; Nottingham East and Carlton.


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Amber Valley 78.3% of Amber Valley 35.9% of Derbyshire Mid
Bolsover 79.8% of Bolsover 21.7% of Amber Valley
4.7% of Derbyshire North East
Chesterfield 100% of Chesterfield 6.2% of Derbyshire North East
Derby East 46.0% of Derby South 30.4% of Derbyshire Mid
27.6% of Derby North
7.4% of Derbyshire South
Derby West 55.6% of Derby North 54.0% of Derby South
Derbyshire Dales 100% of Derbyshire Dales 25.1% of Derbyshire Mid
Derbyshire North East 89.1% of Derbyshire North East 20.2% of Bolsover
Derbyshire South 92.6% of Derbyshire South 16.7% of Derby North
Erewash 100% of Erewash 8.6% of Derbyshire Mid
High Peak Unchanged


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bosworth 94.1% of Bosworth
Charnwood 71.8% of Charnwood 22.0% of Loughborough
5.9% of Bosworth
Harborough, Oadby and Wigston 90.6% of Harborough 7.0% of Rutland and Melton
Leicester East Unchanged
Leicester South Unchanged
Leicester West 100% of Leicester West 15.7% of Leicestershire South
Leicestershire North West Unchanged
Leicestershire South 72.6% of Leicestershire South 21.8% of Charnwood
Loughborough and South Rushcliffe 78.0% of Loughborough 24.6% of Rushcliffe
Rutland and Melton 93.0% of Rutland and Melton 6.4% of Charnwood


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Boston and Skegness 99.5% of Boston and Skegness 7.1% of Sleaford and North Hykeham
Gainsborough Unchanged
Grantham and Stamford 98.4% of Grantham and Stamford 0.5% of Sleaford and North Hykeham
Lincoln and North Hykeham 90.2% of Lincoln 15.4% of Sleaford and North Hykeham
Louth and Horncastle 100% of Louth and Horncastle 0.5% of Boston and Skegness
Sleaford 77.0% of Sleaford and North Hykeham 9.8% of Lincoln
1.6% of Grantham and Stamford
South Holland and The Deepings Unchanged


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Corby and Northamptonshire East 92.1% of Corby
Daventry and Lutterworth 75.3% of Daventry 11.6% of Leicestershire South
9.4% of Harborough
2.4% of Wellingborough
Kettering 100% of Kettering 4.3% of Wellingborough
Northampton North 99.1% of Northampton North 27.9% of Northampton South
Northampton South 72.1% of Northampton South 31.3% of Northamptonshire South
5.4% of Daventry
0.9% of Northampton North
Northamptonshire South 68.7% of Northamptonshire South 19.3% of Daventry
Wellingborough and Rushden 93.3% of Wellingborough 7.9% of Corby


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Ashfield 99.9% of Ashfield
Bassetlaw Unchanged
Broxtowe and Hucknall 71.4% of Broxtowe 34.7% of Sherwood
0.1% of Ashfield
Mansfield Unchanged
Newark 99.5% of Newark 5.0% of Sherwood
1.3% of Rushcliffe
Nottingham East and Carlton 56.2% of Gedling 63.7% of Nottingham East
Nottingham North 82.0% of Nottingham North 36.3% of Nottingham East
Nottingham West and Beeston 69.9% of Nottingham South 28.6% of Broxtowe
18.0% of Nottingham North
Rushcliffe North and Clifton 74.1% of Rushcliffe 30.1% of Nottingham South
Sherwood 60.3% of Sherwood 43.8% of Gedling
0.5% of Newark