East Midlands: New Constituency Boundaries 2023

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These tables show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2019 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should give the most accurate projection, since it reflects varying political behaviour across the seat.

East Midlands Change Table

PartyOld SeatsNew SeatsChangeDisappearSwitch OutSwitch InFresh

The table shows how the various changes affect each party in this area. The total old and new seats are shown for each party, as well as their difference ('Change'). The change in seats is also explained through the four explanations:

The new seats which are freshly created are: Melton and Syston.


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Amber Valley 100% of Amber Valley 0.1% of Derbyshire Mid
Bolsover 99.7% of Bolsover 0.5% of Derbyshire North East
Chesterfield Unchanged
Derby North Unchanged
Derby South Unchanged
Derbyshire Dales 95.2% of Derbyshire Dales 11.6% of Derbyshire South
Derbyshire Mid 99.9% of Derbyshire Mid 4.8% of Derbyshire Dales
Derbyshire North East 99.5% of Derbyshire North East 0.3% of Bolsover
Derbyshire South 88.4% of Derbyshire South
Erewash Unchanged
High Peak Unchanged


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Harborough, Oadby and Wigston 92.4% of Harborough 0.4% of Rutland and Melton
Hinckley and Bosworth 87.1% of Bosworth 5.3% of Leicestershire North West
Leicester East 97.1% of Leicester East
Leicester South 89.2% of Leicester South 2.9% of Leicester East
Leicester West 100% of Leicester West 10.8% of Leicester South
Leicestershire Mid 67.4% of Charnwood 14.2% of Leicestershire South
12.9% of Bosworth
Leicestershire North West 94.7% of Leicestershire North West
Leicestershire South 85.8% of Leicestershire South 7.6% of Harborough
Loughborough 92.3% of Loughborough
Melton and Syston 48.6% of Rutland and Melton 32.6% of Charnwood
7.7% of Loughborough
Rutland and Stamford 51.0% of Rutland and Melton 36.3% of Grantham and Stamford


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Boston and Skegness 99.4% of Boston and Skegness 7.6% of Louth and Horncastle
Gainsborough 97.3% of Gainsborough
Grantham and Bourne 63.7% of Grantham and Stamford 21.3% of Sleaford and North Hykeham
Lincoln Unchanged
Louth and Horncastle 92.4% of Louth and Horncastle 2.7% of Gainsborough
0.6% of Boston and Skegness
Sleaford and North Hykeham 78.7% of Sleaford and North Hykeham
South Holland and The Deepings Unchanged


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Corby and East Northamptonshire 89.3% of Corby
Daventry 90.4% of Daventry 5.4% of Wellingborough
1.9% of Northamptonshire South
Kettering 100% of Kettering 3.9% of Corby
Northampton North 97.0% of Northampton North 29.4% of Northampton South
Northampton South 70.6% of Northampton South 28.0% of Northamptonshire South
3.0% of Northampton North
Northamptonshire South 70.1% of Northamptonshire South 9.6% of Daventry
6.2% of Wellingborough
Wellingborough and Rushden 88.4% of Wellingborough 6.8% of Corby


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Ashfield 85.5% of Ashfield 3.5% of Mansfield
Bassetlaw 95.7% of Bassetlaw
Broxtowe 82.4% of Broxtowe 14.5% of Ashfield
Gedling 100% of Gedling 6.3% of Sherwood
Mansfield 96.5% of Mansfield
Newark 93.8% of Newark 4.3% of Bassetlaw
1.5% of Rushcliffe
1.2% of Sherwood
Nottingham East 100% of Nottingham East 11.3% of Nottingham South
0.0% of Nottingham North
Nottingham North and Kimberley 82.1% of Nottingham North 17.6% of Broxtowe
8.2% of Nottingham South
Nottingham South 80.5% of Nottingham South 17.8% of Nottingham North
Rushcliffe 98.5% of Rushcliffe
Sherwood Forest 92.4% of Sherwood 6.2% of Newark