South West: New Constituency Boundaries 2023

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These tables show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2019 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should give the most accurate projection, since it reflects varying political behaviour across the seat.

South West Change Table

PartyOld SeatsNew SeatsChangeDisappearSwitch OutSwitch InFresh

The table shows how the various changes affect each party in this area. The total old and new seats are shown for each party, as well as their difference ('Change'). The change in seats is also explained through the four explanations:

The old seats which are disappearing are: Kingswood; Wiltshire North.

The new seats which are freshly created are: Bristol North East; Cotswolds North; Frome and East Somerset; Melksham and Devizes; Tiverton and Minehead.

Bristol area

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bath 100% of Bath 7.7% of Somerset North East
Bristol Central 70.3% of Bristol West
Bristol East 61.2% of Bristol East 20.6% of Bristol West
11.7% of Bristol South
Bristol North East 38.8% of Bristol East 35.8% of Kingswood
11.9% of Bristol North West
9.6% of Filton and Bradley Stoke
Bristol North West 88.1% of Bristol North West 9.1% of Bristol West
Bristol South 88.3% of Bristol South
Filton and Bradley Stoke 82.2% of Filton and Bradley Stoke 16.5% of Kingswood
1.7% of Thornbury and Yate
Somerset North 91.5% of Somerset North
Somerset North East and Hanham 54.8% of Somerset North East 47.3% of Kingswood
Thornbury and Yate 98.3% of Thornbury and Yate 8.2% of Filton and Bradley Stoke
0.5% of Kingswood
Weston-super-Mare 84.8% of Weston-Super-Mare


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Camborne and Redruth 92.2% of Camborne and Redruth 10.9% of Truro and Falmouth
Cornwall North 100% of Cornwall North 5.8% of St Austell and Newquay
Cornwall South East 99.3% of Cornwall South East
St Austell and Newquay 92.1% of St Austell and Newquay 0.7% of Cornwall South East
St Ives 100% of St Ives 3.6% of Camborne and Redruth
Truro and Falmouth 89.1% of Truro and Falmouth 4.2% of Camborne and Redruth
2.0% of St Austell and Newquay


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Devon Central 97.4% of Devon Central 0.2% of Newton Abbot
Devon North Unchanged
Devon South 98.4% of Totnes 4.4% of Devon South West
0.2% of Torbay
Devon South West 95.6% of Devon South West 7.5% of Devon West and Torridge
Exeter 87.9% of Exeter 0.9% of Devon East
Exmouth and Exeter East 72.6% of Devon East 12.1% of Exeter
2.3% of Devon Central
Honiton and Sidmouth 62.0% of Tiverton and Honiton 26.5% of Devon East
Newton Abbot 99.8% of Newton Abbot
Plymouth Moor View 100% of Plymouth Moor View 5.2% of Plymouth Sutton and Devonport
Plymouth Sutton and Devonport 94.8% of Plymouth Sutton and Devonport
Torbay 99.8% of Torbay 1.6% of Totnes
Torridge and Tavistock 92.5% of Devon West and Torridge 0.3% of Devon Central


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bournemouth East 100% of Bournemouth East 0.1% of Bournemouth West
Bournemouth West 95.6% of Bournemouth West 3.2% of Poole
Christchurch 98.6% of Christchurch 1.5% of Dorset North
Dorset Mid and Poole North 100% of Dorset Mid and Poole North 5.2% of Dorset North
3.6% of Bournemouth West
1.5% of Dorset South
1.4% of Christchurch
0.2% of Poole
Dorset North 92.5% of Dorset North 2.0% of Dorset West
Dorset South 98.2% of Dorset South 6.0% of Dorset West
Dorset West 92.0% of Dorset West 0.8% of Dorset North
0.3% of Dorset South
Poole 96.6% of Poole 0.6% of Bournemouth West


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Cheltenham 94.1% of Cheltenham
Cotswolds North 44.3% of Cotswolds, The 24.9% of Tewkesbury
16.1% of Stroud
Cotswolds South 49.2% of Cotswolds, The 44.1% of Wiltshire North
0.0% of Chippenham
Forest of Dean Unchanged
Gloucester 94.1% of Gloucester
Stroud 83.9% of Stroud 6.5% of Cotswolds, The
Tewkesbury 75.1% of Tewkesbury 5.9% of Gloucester
5.9% of Cheltenham


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bridgwater 61.5% of Bridgwater and West Somerset 22.3% of Wells
Frome and East Somerset 45.0% of Somerton and Frome 37.5% of Somerset North East
4.5% of Wells
Glastonbury and Somerton 54.9% of Somerton and Frome 19.3% of Wells
7.9% of Yeovil
Taunton and Wellington 87.1% of Taunton Deane
Tiverton and Minehead 38.0% of Tiverton and Honiton 32.8% of Bridgwater and West Somerset
12.9% of Taunton Deane
Wells and Mendip Hills 53.8% of Wells 15.2% of Weston-Super-Mare
8.5% of Somerset North
5.6% of Bridgwater and West Somerset
Yeovil 92.1% of Yeovil 0.1% of Somerton and Frome


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Chippenham 48.2% of Chippenham 45.6% of Wiltshire North
0.9% of Devizes
Melksham and Devizes 46.6% of Chippenham 35.5% of Devizes
10.3% of Wiltshire North
2.5% of Wiltshire South West
Salisbury 82.2% of Salisbury 11.1% of Wiltshire South West
Swindon North 87.4% of Swindon North
Swindon South 85.0% of Swindon South 12.6% of Swindon North
Wiltshire East 63.6% of Devizes 17.8% of Salisbury
15.0% of Swindon South
Wiltshire South West 86.4% of Wiltshire South West 5.1% of Chippenham