Yorks/Humber: New Constituency Boundaries 2023

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These tables show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2019 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should give the most accurate projection, since it reflects varying political behaviour across the seat.

Yorks/Humber Change Table

PartyOld SeatsNew SeatsChangeDisappearSwitch OutSwitch InFresh

The table shows how the various changes affect each party in this area. The total old and new seats are shown for each party, as well as their difference ('Change'). The change in seats is also explained through the four explanations:

The old seats which are disappearing are: Brigg and Goole; Leeds West.

The old seats which are lost to another party are: Batley and Spen; Dewsbury; Hull West and Hessle.

The new seats which are gained from another party are: Spen Valley; Dewsbury and Batley; Kingston upon Hull West and Haltemprice.

The new seats which are freshly created are: Leeds West and Pudsey; Wakefield and Rothwell.

Humber area

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Beverley and Holderness 89.4% of Beverley and Holderness
Bridlington and the Wolds 79.3% of Yorkshire East 10.6% of Beverley and Holderness
Brigg and Immingham 65.9% of Cleethorpes 21.7% of Brigg and Goole
14.7% of Great Grimsby
Goole and Pocklington 53.9% of Haltemprice and Howden 32.6% of Brigg and Goole
20.7% of Yorkshire East
Great Grimsby and Cleethorpes 85.3% of Great Grimsby 34.1% of Cleethorpes
Hull East 96.2% of Hull East 15.1% of Hull North
Kingston upon Hull North and Cottingham 84.9% of Hull North 19.3% of Haltemprice and Howden
7.9% of Hull West and Hessle
3.8% of Hull East
Kingston upon Hull West and Haltemprice 92.1% of Hull West and Hessle 26.8% of Haltemprice and Howden
Scunthorpe 100% of Scunthorpe 17.8% of Brigg and Goole

North Yorkshire

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Harrogate and Knaresborough 95.2% of Harrogate and Knaresborough 0.8% of Selby and Ainsty
0.7% of Skipton and Ripon
Richmond and Northallerton 88.1% of Richmond 0.6% of Thirsk and Malton
Scarborough and Whitby Unchanged
Selby 73.4% of Selby and Ainsty 20.9% of Elmet and Rothwell
Skipton and Ripon 95.5% of Skipton and Ripon 1.0% of Selby and Ainsty
0.3% of Harrogate and Knaresborough
Thirsk and Malton 82.4% of Thirsk and Malton 11.9% of Richmond
Wetherby and Easingwold 38.9% of Elmet and Rothwell 24.8% of Selby and Ainsty
16.9% of Thirsk and Malton
4.4% of Harrogate and Knaresborough
3.8% of Skipton and Ripon
0.0% of Leeds East
York Central 98.6% of York Central 3.3% of York Outer
York Outer 96.7% of York Outer 1.4% of York Central

South Yorkshire

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Barnsley North 89.3% of Barnsley Central 26.3% of Barnsley East
Barnsley South 73.7% of Barnsley East 23.4% of Wentworth and Dearne
10.7% of Barnsley Central
Doncaster Central 95.9% of Doncaster Central 8.9% of Don Valley
Doncaster East and the Isle of Axholme 63.9% of Don Valley 27.9% of Brigg and Goole
4.9% of Doncaster North
Doncaster North 95.1% of Doncaster North 4.1% of Doncaster Central
Penistone and Stocksbridge Unchanged
Rawmarsh and Conisbrough 63.4% of Wentworth and Dearne 27.3% of Don Valley
2.9% of Rother Valley
Rother Valley 92.2% of Rother Valley 1.0% of Rotherham
Rotherham 99.0% of Rotherham 13.3% of Wentworth and Dearne
4.9% of Rother Valley
Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 100% of Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 1.1% of Sheffield Central
Sheffield Central 78.9% of Sheffield Central 0.0% of Sheffield Hallam
Sheffield Hallam 99.4% of Sheffield Hallam 4.0% of Sheffield Central
0.3% of Sheffield Heeley
Sheffield Heeley 88.6% of Sheffield Heeley 16.0% of Sheffield Central
0.6% of Sheffield Hallam
Sheffield South East 100% of Sheffield South East 11.1% of Sheffield Heeley

West Yorkshire

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bradford East 97.9% of Bradford East
Bradford South 100% of Bradford South 2.1% of Bradford East
Bradford West Unchanged
Calder Valley 96.4% of Calder Valley
Colne Valley 84.4% of Colne Valley
Dewsbury and Batley 53.0% of Dewsbury 33.3% of Batley and Spen
0.0% of Huddersfield
Halifax 100% of Halifax 3.6% of Calder Valley
Huddersfield 95.3% of Huddersfield 15.5% of Colne Valley
Keighley and Ilkley 100% of Keighley 0.0% of Shipley
Leeds Central and Headingley 49.1% of Leeds North West 27.9% of Leeds Central
24.4% of Leeds West
0.0% of Leeds North East
Leeds East 86.6% of Leeds East 20.3% of Elmet and Rothwell
Leeds North East Unchanged
Leeds North West 50.3% of Pudsey 50.9% of Leeds North West
0.0% of Leeds North East
Leeds South 71.9% of Leeds Central 13.4% of Leeds East
0.2% of Morley and Outwood
Leeds South West and Morley 67.3% of Morley and Outwood 26.2% of Leeds West
0.2% of Leeds Central
Leeds West and Pudsey 49.7% of Pudsey 49.4% of Leeds West
Normanton and Hemsworth 86.2% of Hemsworth 14.0% of Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford
Ossett and Denby Dale 54.6% of Wakefield 27.9% of Dewsbury
13.8% of Hemsworth
0.1% of Colne Valley
Pontefract, Castleford and Knottingley 86.0% of Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford
Shipley Unchanged
Spen Valley 66.7% of Batley and Spen 19.1% of Dewsbury
4.7% of Huddersfield
Wakefield and Rothwell 45.4% of Wakefield 32.5% of Morley and Outwood
19.9% of Elmet and Rothwell