South East: New Constituency Boundaries 2018

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These tables show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2019 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should give the most accurate projection, since it reflects varying political behaviour across the seat.

South East Change Table

PartyOld SeatsNew SeatsChangeDisappearSwitch OutSwitch InFresh

The table shows how the various changes affect each party in this area. The total old and new seats are shown for each party, as well as their difference ('Change'). The change in seats is also explained through the four explanations:

The old seats which are disappearing are: Faversham and Kent Mid; Meon Valley; Tunbridge Wells.

The old seats which are lost to another party are: Brighton Kemptown; Canterbury; Southampton Test.

The new seats which are gained from another party are: Brighton Kemptown and Seahaven; Canterbury and Faversham; Southampton Test.

The new seats which are freshly created are: Isle of Wight West; Weald of Kent.


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bracknell Unchanged
Maidenhead Unchanged
Newbury 90.8% of Newbury
Reading East 100% of Reading East 8.3% of Reading West
Reading West 91.7% of Reading West 9.2% of Newbury
Slough Unchanged
Windsor 100% of Windsor 4.2% of Surrey Heath
Wokingham Unchanged


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Aylesbury 81.0% of Aylesbury 19.6% of Buckingham
Beaconsfield Unchanged
Buckingham and Milton Keynes West 80.4% of Buckingham 11.7% of Milton Keynes North
8.7% of Milton Keynes South
Chesham and Amersham 100% of Chesham and Amersham 10.9% of Aylesbury
Milton Keynes North East 69.2% of Milton Keynes North 23.3% of Milton Keynes South
Milton Keynes South 68.0% of Milton Keynes South 19.2% of Milton Keynes North
Wycombe 100% of Wycombe 8.1% of Aylesbury

East Sussex

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bexhill and Battle Unchanged
Brighton Kemptown and Seahaven 77.1% of Brighton Kemptown 40.4% of Lewes
Brighton Pavilion 90.9% of Brighton Pavilion 22.9% of Brighton Kemptown
Eastbourne Unchanged
Hastings and Rye Unchanged
Hove and Regency 100% of Hove 9.1% of Brighton Pavilion
Lewes and West Wealden 59.6% of Lewes 48.4% of Wealden
0.0% of Bexhill and Battle
Tunbridge Wells and Crowborough 51.6% of Wealden 48.8% of Tunbridge Wells


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Aldershot 89.6% of Aldershot 16.9% of Hampshire North East
Basingstoke Unchanged
Eastleigh Unchanged
Fareham 100% of Fareham 3.1% of Meon Valley
Gosport Unchanged
Hampshire East 79.8% of Hampshire East 23.1% of Meon Valley
Hampshire North East 70.0% of Hampshire North East 20.2% of Hampshire East
10.4% of Aldershot
Hampshire North West 88.3% of Hampshire North West 13.1% of Hampshire North East
Havant 79.1% of Havant 31.8% of Meon Valley
Isle of Wight East 58.8% of Isle of Wight
Isle of Wight West 41.2% of Isle of Wight
New Forest East 93.8% of New Forest East 9.1% of Romsey and Southampton North
New Forest West 100% of New Forest West 6.2% of New Forest East
Portsmouth North 84.6% of Portsmouth North 20.9% of Havant
Portsmouth South 100% of Portsmouth South 15.4% of Portsmouth North
Southampton Itchen 100% of Southampton Itchen 12.9% of Southampton Test
Southampton Test 87.1% of Southampton Test 25.5% of Romsey and Southampton North
Test Valley 65.4% of Romsey and Southampton North 34.1% of Winchester
11.7% of Hampshire North West
Winchester 65.9% of Winchester 42.0% of Meon Valley


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Ashford 81.5% of Ashford 5.0% of Folkestone and Hythe
Canterbury and Faversham 62.5% of Canterbury 30.6% of Faversham and Kent Mid
7.8% of Thanet South
5.0% of Dover
2.0% of Thanet North
Chatham and Malling 90.4% of Chatham and Aylesford 19.0% of Tonbridge and Malling
Dartford 93.8% of Dartford
Dover and Deal 95.0% of Dover 8.1% of Thanet South
Folkestone and Hythe 95.0% of Folkestone and Hythe
Gillingham and Rainham 100% of Gillingham and Rainham 9.6% of Chatham and Aylesford
Gravesham 100% of Gravesham 6.2% of Dartford
Kent North Coastal 70.5% of Thanet North 37.5% of Canterbury
Maidstone 65.1% of Maidstone and The Weald 45.8% of Faversham and Kent Mid
Rochester and Strood Unchanged
Sevenoaks 100% of Sevenoaks 4.4% of Tonbridge and Malling
Sittingbourne and Sheppey Unchanged
Thanet East 84.2% of Thanet South 27.5% of Thanet North
Tonbridge 76.6% of Tonbridge and Malling 26.5% of Tunbridge Wells
Weald of Kent 34.9% of Maidstone and The Weald 24.7% of Tunbridge Wells
23.6% of Faversham and Kent Mid
18.5% of Ashford


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Abingdon and Oxford North 89.5% of Oxford West and Abingdon 5.4% of Wantage
3.2% of Henley
Banbury 91.6% of Banbury
Oxford 100% of Oxford East 9.5% of Oxford West and Abingdon
Oxfordshire East 96.8% of Henley 8.4% of Banbury
0.9% of Wantage
Wantage 93.7% of Wantage 1.0% of Oxford West and Abingdon
Witney Unchanged


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Epsom and Ewell Unchanged
Esher and Walton 93.9% of Esher and Walton
Guildford Unchanged
Mole Valley Unchanged
Reigate Unchanged
Runnymede and Weybridge 94.2% of Runnymede and Weybridge 6.1% of Esher and Walton
Spelthorne 100% of Spelthorne 5.8% of Runnymede and Weybridge
Surrey East Unchanged
Surrey Heath 95.8% of Surrey Heath
Surrey South West Unchanged
Woking Unchanged

West Sussex

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Arundel and South Downs 90.9% of Arundel and South Downs 4.6% of Chichester
2.7% of Sussex Mid
Bognor Regis and Littlehampton 100% of Bognor Regis and Littlehampton 8.0% of Arundel and South Downs
Chichester 95.4% of Chichester
Crawley 100% of Crawley 4.8% of Horsham
Horsham 95.2% of Horsham
Sussex Mid 97.3% of Sussex Mid
Worthing East and Shoreham Unchanged
Worthing West 100% of Worthing West 1.1% of Arundel and South Downs