South East: New Constituency Boundaries 2023

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These tables show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2019 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should give the most accurate projection, since it reflects varying political behaviour across the seat.

South East Change Table

PartyOld SeatsNew SeatsChangeDisappearSwitch OutSwitch InFresh

The table shows how the various changes affect each party in this area. The total old and new seats are shown for each party, as well as their difference ('Change'). The change in seats is also explained through the four explanations:

The old seats which are disappearing are: Arundel and South Downs; Meon Valley.

The new seats which are freshly created are: Arundel and Littlehampton; Bicester; Buckingham and Bletchley; Earley and Woodley; East Grinstead and Uckfield; Godalming and Ash; Hedge End; Isle of Wight West; Weald of Kent.


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Berkshire Mid 62.3% of Reading West 14.4% of Newbury
13.8% of Wokingham
Bracknell 81.1% of Bracknell 7.8% of Windsor
Earley and Woodley 35.8% of Wokingham 32.6% of Reading East
11.5% of Reading West
8.8% of Maidenhead
Maidenhead 73.9% of Maidenhead 21.2% of Windsor
Newbury 85.6% of Newbury
Reading 67.4% of Reading East 26.2% of Reading West
Slough 89.4% of Slough
Windsor 71.0% of Windsor 12.6% of Runnymede and Weybridge
10.6% of Slough
Wokingham 50.5% of Wokingham 18.9% of Bracknell
17.3% of Maidenhead


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Aylesbury 66.9% of Aylesbury 22.0% of Buckingham
Buckingham and Bletchley 42.4% of Milton Keynes South 39.6% of Buckingham
Chesham and Amersham 82.8% of Chesham and Amersham 10.5% of Beaconsfield
9.6% of Wycombe
High Wycombe 90.4% of Wycombe 0.7% of Aylesbury
Marlow and South Buckinghamshire 89.5% of Beaconsfield
Milton Keynes 43.6% of Milton Keynes South 37.7% of Milton Keynes North
Newport Pagnell 62.3% of Milton Keynes North 14.0% of Milton Keynes South
Princes Risborough 38.4% of Buckingham 32.5% of Aylesbury
17.2% of Chesham and Amersham

East Sussex

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bexhill and Battle 79.7% of Bexhill and Battle 6.1% of Hastings and Rye
Brighton Kemptown 84.1% of Brighton Kemptown 15.5% of Brighton Pavilion
Brighton Pavilion 84.5% of Brighton Pavilion 15.9% of Brighton Kemptown
Eastbourne 92.0% of Eastbourne
Hailsham and Crowborough 70.2% of Wealden 13.7% of Bexhill and Battle
Hastings and Rye 93.9% of Hastings and Rye 1.5% of Bexhill and Battle
Hove and Brighton West 100% of Hove
Lewes 83.1% of Lewes 8.0% of Eastbourne
5.0% of Bexhill and Battle
1.3% of Wealden


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Aldershot 100% of Aldershot 6.2% of Hampshire North East
Basingstoke 86.1% of Basingstoke 7.1% of Hampshire North West
Eastleigh 57.5% of Eastleigh 22.4% of Winchester
6.9% of Romsey and Southampton North
Fareham and Waterlooville 53.9% of Fareham 45.7% of Meon Valley
Gosport Unchanged
Hampshire East 71.6% of Hampshire East 23.6% of Meon Valley
Hampshire North East 88.1% of Hampshire North East 8.2% of Basingstoke
0.5% of Hampshire North West
Hampshire North West 80.3% of Hampshire North West 5.8% of Basingstoke
5.7% of Hampshire North East
Havant Unchanged
Hedge End 46.1% of Fareham 42.5% of Eastleigh
6.1% of Meon Valley
Isle of Wight East 51.0% of Isle of Wight
Isle of Wight West 49.0% of Isle of Wight
New Forest East Unchanged
New Forest West Unchanged
Portsmouth North Unchanged
Portsmouth South Unchanged
Romsey and Southampton North 93.1% of Romsey and Southampton North 12.2% of Hampshire North West
Southampton Itchen Unchanged
Southampton Test Unchanged
Winchester 77.6% of Winchester 24.6% of Meon Valley


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Ashford 63.6% of Ashford 18.6% of Folkestone and Hythe
Canterbury 94.3% of Canterbury 0.0% of Thanet North
Chatham and Aylesford 89.2% of Chatham and Aylesford 12.5% of Rochester and Strood
Dartford 84.3% of Dartford
Dover and Deal 100% of Dover 0.9% of Thanet South
Faversham and Kent Mid 85.5% of Faversham and Kent Mid 8.4% of Sittingbourne and Sheppey
7.3% of Ashford
Folkestone and Hythe 79.1% of Folkestone and Hythe
Gillingham and Rainham Unchanged
Gravesham Unchanged
Maidstone and Malling 64.8% of Maidstone and The Weald 22.1% of Tonbridge and Malling
10.8% of Chatham and Aylesford
Rochester and Strood 87.5% of Rochester and Strood
Sevenoaks 93.6% of Sevenoaks 9.8% of Dartford
Sittingbourne and Sheppey 91.6% of Sittingbourne and Sheppey
Thanet East 84.1% of Thanet South 17.4% of Thanet North
Thanet West 82.6% of Thanet North 15.1% of Thanet South
5.7% of Canterbury
Tonbridge 77.9% of Tonbridge and Malling 5.9% of Dartford
6.4% of Sevenoaks
Tunbridge Wells 93.5% of Tunbridge Wells
Weald of Kent 35.2% of Maidstone and The Weald 29.1% of Ashford
14.5% of Faversham and Kent Mid
6.5% of Tunbridge Wells
2.4% of Folkestone and Hythe


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Banbury 61.0% of Banbury 17.6% of Witney
Bicester 39.0% of Banbury 20.1% of Witney
18.0% of Oxford West and Abingdon
5.7% of Henley
Didcot and Wantage 75.5% of Wantage 2.9% of Henley
Henley 91.5% of Henley
Oxford East 91.4% of Oxford East
Oxford West and Abingdon 80.9% of Oxford West and Abingdon 8.6% of Oxford East
2.8% of Wantage
Witney 62.4% of Witney 21.7% of Wantage
1.1% of Oxford West and Abingdon


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Dorking and Horley 63.4% of Mole Valley 22.0% of Surrey East
12.2% of Reigate
Epsom and Ewell 84.9% of Epsom and Ewell 11.4% of Mole Valley
Esher and Walton 90.1% of Esher and Walton 0.3% of Runnymede and Weybridge
Farnham and Bordon 62.9% of Surrey South West 28.4% of Hampshire East
Godalming and Ash 37.1% of Surrey South West 26.7% of Guildford
18.7% of Surrey Heath
6.0% of Mole Valley
Guildford 73.3% of Guildford 19.1% of Mole Valley
Reigate 77.4% of Reigate 15.1% of Epsom and Ewell
Spelthorne Unchanged
Surrey East 78.0% of Surrey East 10.5% of Reigate
Surrey Heath 81.3% of Surrey Heath 5.9% of Woking
Weybridge and Chertsey 87.1% of Runnymede and Weybridge 9.9% of Esher and Walton
Woking 94.1% of Woking

West Sussex

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Arundel and Littlehampton 36.7% of Worthing West 28.6% of Bognor Regis and Littlehampton
22.2% of Arundel and South Downs
8.7% of Worthing East and Shoreham
Bognor Regis 71.4% of Bognor Regis and Littlehampton 17.3% of Chichester
8.3% of Arundel and South Downs
Chichester 82.7% of Chichester 6.0% of Arundel and South Downs
Crawley Unchanged
East Grinstead and Uckfield 30.3% of Sussex Mid 28.6% of Wealden
16.6% of Horsham
16.9% of Lewes
Horsham 83.4% of Horsham 5.4% of Arundel and South Downs
Shoreham 55.8% of Worthing East and Shoreham 42.2% of Arundel and South Downs
Sussex Mid 69.7% of Sussex Mid 15.7% of Arundel and South Downs
Worthing 63.3% of Worthing West 35.5% of Worthing East and Shoreham