North West: New Constituency Boundaries 2023

Each new seat can be described as a combination of parts of old seats. These tables show this decomposition. The winner of the old seat at the 2019 election is shown by party colour, as is the implied winner of the new seat.

The implied results are calculated using the local election results for the wards which make up each old seat. This should give the most accurate projection, since it reflects varying political behaviour across the seat.

North West Change Table

PartyOld SeatsNew SeatsChangeDisappearSwitch OutSwitch InFresh

The table shows how the various changes affect each party in this area. The total old and new seats are shown for each party, as well as their difference ('Change'). The change in seats is also explained through the four explanations:

The old seats which are disappearing are: Denton and Reddish; Westmorland and Lonsdale; Wirral South; Wyre and Preston North.

The old seats which are lost to another party are: Heywood and Middleton; Lancaster and Fleetwood; Warrington South; Wirral West.

The new seats which are gained from another party are: Heywood; Lancaster; Warrington South; Wirral West.

The new seats which are freshly created are: Failsworth and Droylsden; Northwich.

Central Manchester

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Altrincham and Sale West Unchanged
Manchester Blackley 60.8% of Blackley and Broughton 19.5% of Heywood and Middleton
11.6% of Manchester Central
Manchester Central 66.0% of Manchester Central 16.2% of Blackley and Broughton
2.7% of Manchester Gorton
Manchester Longsight 77.1% of Manchester Gorton 11.8% of Manchester Withington
1.9% of Manchester Central
Manchester Withington 88.2% of Manchester Withington 4.8% of Manchester Gorton
Salford 77.2% of Salford and Eccles 11.2% of Blackley and Broughton
Stretford and Urmston Unchanged
Worsley and Eccles 64.6% of Worsley and Eccles South 22.8% of Salford and Eccles
12.8% of Leigh
Wythenshawe and Sale East Unchanged


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Cheshire South 63.3% of Eddisbury 24.5% of Chester, City of
5.6% of Crewe and Nantwich
1.3% of Weaver Vale
Chester North and Neston 73.8% of Chester, City of 24.1% of Ellesmere Port and Neston
Congleton 89.7% of Congleton 0.3% of Eddisbury
Crewe and Nantwich 94.4% of Crewe and Nantwich 0.7% of Eddisbury
Ellesmere Port 68.3% of Ellesmere Port and Neston 40.3% of Wirral South
Macclesfield Unchanged
Northwich 46.1% of Weaver Vale 32.4% of Eddisbury
25.3% of Tatton
Runcorn and Helsby 52.6% of Weaver Vale 33.7% of Halton
7.6% of Ellesmere Port and Neston
3.3% of Eddisbury
1.7% of Chester, City of
Tatton 74.7% of Tatton 16.5% of Warrington South
10.3% of Congleton
Warrington North 99.8% of Warrington North 0.0% of Warrington South
Warrington South 83.4% of Warrington South 0.2% of Warrington North
Widnes and Halewood 66.3% of Halton 21.9% of Garston and Halewood
9.3% of St Helens South and Whiston
0.0% of Knowsley


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Barrow and Furness 97.0% of Barrow and Furness 12.0% of Westmorland and Lonsdale
Carlisle 90.6% of Carlisle 26.4% of Penrith and The Border
Copeland and the Western Lakes 96.6% of Copeland 18.2% of Westmorland and Lonsdale
3.0% of Barrow and Furness
0.5% of Workington
Westmorland and Eden 64.2% of Penrith and The Border 50.0% of Westmorland and Lonsdale
Workington 99.5% of Workington 9.4% of Penrith and The Border
9.4% of Carlisle
3.4% of Copeland

Eastern Manchester

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Ashton under Lyne 51.1% of Ashton under Lyne 37.4% of Stalybridge and Hyde
14.3% of Denton and Reddish
Cheadle Unchanged
Denton and Hyde 62.6% of Stalybridge and Hyde 39.4% of Denton and Reddish
Failsworth and Droylsden 48.9% of Ashton under Lyne 20.6% of Manchester Central
15.4% of Manchester Gorton
14.7% of Denton and Reddish
Hazel Grove 100% of Hazel Grove 16.2% of Stockport
Heywood 80.5% of Heywood and Middleton 10.3% of Rochdale
Oldham East and Saddleworth Unchanged
Oldham West and Royton Unchanged
Rochdale 89.7% of Rochdale
Stockport 83.8% of Stockport 31.5% of Denton and Reddish


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Blackburn 100% of Blackburn 5.8% of Rossendale and Darwen
Blackpool North and Fleetwood 69.6% of Blackpool North and Cleveleys 27.9% of Lancaster and Fleetwood
15.9% of Wyre and Preston North
Blackpool South 100% of Blackpool South 30.4% of Blackpool North and Cleveleys
Burnley and Bacup 86.2% of Burnley 23.6% of Rossendale and Darwen
Chorley 84.8% of Chorley 11.5% of Ribble South
Fylde 92.5% of Fylde 16.3% of Wyre and Preston North
Hyndburn 88.0% of Hyndburn 9.1% of Ribble Valley
Lancashire West Unchanged
Lancaster 72.1% of Lancaster and Fleetwood 24.4% of Wyre and Preston North
10.2% of Morecambe and Lunesdale
Morecambe and South Lakeland 89.8% of Morecambe and Lunesdale 19.9% of Westmorland and Lonsdale
Pendle 100% of Pendle 13.8% of Burnley
Pennine Moors West 70.5% of Rossendale and Darwen 15.2% of Chorley
12.0% of Hyndburn
Preston 81.1% of Preston 29.3% of Wyre and Preston North
7.5% of Fylde
Ribble South 70.9% of Ribble South 26.6% of Ribble Valley
Ribble Valley 64.3% of Ribble Valley 18.9% of Preston
14.2% of Wyre and Preston North


New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Birkenhead 100% of Birkenhead 20.8% of Wirral South
Bootle Unchanged
Knowsley 81.2% of Knowsley 3.2% of St Helens South and Whiston
Liverpool Garston 78.1% of Garston and Halewood 16.8% of Liverpool Wavertree
Liverpool Norris Green 68.6% of Liverpool Walton 34.0% of Liverpool West Derby
14.7% of Sefton Central
Liverpool Riverside 63.1% of Liverpool Riverside 31.4% of Liverpool Walton
Liverpool Wavertree 65.4% of Liverpool Wavertree 36.9% of Liverpool Riverside
Liverpool West Derby 66.0% of Liverpool West Derby 18.8% of Knowsley
17.8% of Liverpool Wavertree
Sefton Central 85.3% of Sefton Central 14.4% of Southport
Southport 85.6% of Southport 17.6% of Ribble South
St Helens North 88.7% of St Helens North 9.8% of St Helens South and Whiston
St Helens South 77.6% of St Helens South and Whiston 11.3% of St Helens North
Wallasey 100% of Wallasey 11.2% of Wirral West
Wirral West 88.8% of Wirral West 38.9% of Wirral South

Western Manchester

New seatPrimary componentSecondary component(s)
Bolton North East 100% of Bolton North East 14.0% of Bolton South East
Bolton South and Walkden 71.6% of Bolton South East 35.4% of Worsley and Eccles South
Bolton West 85.0% of Bolton West 14.4% of Bolton South East
Bury North 100% of Bury North 11.6% of Bury South
Bury South 88.4% of Bury South 11.8% of Blackley and Broughton
Leigh South and Atherton 73.7% of Leigh 15.0% of Bolton West
12.0% of Makerfield
Makerfield 88.0% of Makerfield 13.5% of Leigh
Wigan Unchanged