Area Definitions

Large Area Map (380k)     Area definitions     Region composition


The country is also divided into twelve areas, which are the old EU constituencies and the official "NUTS 1" regions of the country. They are listed below, along with their constituent unofficial "Historic Counties", plus official district, borough or unitary local authorities.

The Historic Counties are shown to help interpretation and are similar, but not identical, to the official Preserved County names. The Historic Counties derive from the 1974 reorginisation and include Cleveland (renamed "Teesside"), Humberside (renamed "Humber area"), Tyne and Wear (renamed "Newcastle area") and Avon (renamed "Bristol area"), with additional modifications for clarity, such as dividing up Greater Manchester and the West Midlands.

Historic CountyDistrict, Borough or Unitary Council
1. Northern Ireland
AntrimAntrim, Ballymena, Ballymoney, Belfast, Carrickfergus, Larne, Lisburn, Moyle, Newtownabbey
ArmaghArmagh, Craigavon
DownArds, Banbridge, Castlereagh, Down, Newry and Mourne, North Down
LondonderryColeraine, Derry, Limavady, Magherafelt
TyroneCookstown, Dungannon and South Tyrone, Omagh, Strabane
2. Scotland
Argyll and ButeArgyll and Bute
Ayrshire and LanarkEast Ayrshire, North Ayrshire, South Ayrshire, South Lanarkshire
BordersScottish Borders
CentralClackmannanshire, Falkirk, Stirling
Dumfries and GallowayDumfries and Galloway
Edinburgh areaEast Lothian, Edinburgh, Midlothian, West Lothian
Glasgow areaEast Dunbartonshire, East Renfrewshire, Glasgow, Inverclyde, North Lanarkshire, Renfrewshire, West Dunbartonshire
GrampianAberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Moray
Orkney and ShetlandOrkney Islands, Shetland Islands
TaysideAngus, Dundee, Perth and Kinross
Western IslesNa h-Eileanan an lar
3. North East
DurhamDarlington, Durham
Newcastle areaGateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne, North Tyneside, South Tyneside, Sunderland
TeessideHartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland, Stockton-on-Tees
4. North West
CheshireCheshire East, Cheshire West and Chester, Halton, Warrington
CumbriaAllerdale, Barrow-in-Furness, Carlisle, Copeland, Eden, South Lakeland
LancashireBlackburn with Darwen, Blackpool, Burnley, Chorley, Fylde, Hyndburn, Lancaster, Pendle, Preston, Ribble Valley, Rossendale, South Ribble, West Lancashire, Wyre
Central ManchesterManchester, Salford, Trafford
Eastern ManchesterOldham, Rochdale, Stockport, Tameside
Western ManchesterBolton, Bury, Wigan
MerseysideKnowsley, Liverpool, Sefton, St Helens, Wirral
5. Yorks / Humber
Humber areaEast Riding of Yorkshire, Kingston Upon Hull, North East Lincolnshire, North Lincolnshire
North YorkshireCraven, Hambleton, Harrogate, Richmondshire, Ryedale, Scarborough, Selby, York
South YorkshireBarnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham, Sheffield
West YorkshireBradford, Calderdale, Kirklees, Leeds, Wakefield
6. Wales
ClwydConwy, Denbighshire, Flintshire, Wrexham
DyfedCarmarthenshire, Ceredigion, Pembrokeshire
GwentBlaenau Gwent, Caerphilly, Monmouthshire, Newport, Torfaen
GwyneddGwynedd, Isle of Anglesey
Mid GlamorganBridgend, Merthyr Tydfil, Rhondda Cynon Taf
South GlamorganCardiff, Vale of Glamorgan
West GlamorganNeath Port Talbot, Swansea
7. West Midlands
Black CountryDudley, Sandwell, Walsall, Wolverhampton
Coventry and SolihullCoventry, Solihull
Hereford and WorcestershireBromsgrove, Herefordshire, Malvern Hills, Redditch, Worcester, Wychavon, Wyre Forest
ShropshireShropshire, Telford and Wrekin
StaffordshireCannock Chase, East Staffordshire, Lichfield, Newcastle-under-Lyme, South Staffordshire, Stafford, Staffordshire Moorlands, Stoke-on-trent, Tamworth
WarwickshireNorth Warwickshire, Nuneaton and Bedworth, Rugby, Stratford On Avon, Warwick
8. East Midlands
DerbyshireAmber Valley, Bolsover, Chesterfield, Derby, Derbyshire Dales, Erewash, High Peak, North East Derbyshire, South Derbyshire
LeicestershireBlaby, Charnwood, Harborough, Hinckley and Bosworth, Leicester, Melton, North West Leicestershire, Oadby and Wigston, Rutland
LincolnshireBoston, East Lindsey, Lincoln, North Kesteven, South Holland, South Kesteven, West Lindsey
NorthamptonshireCorby, Daventry, East Northamptonshire, Kettering, Northampton, South Northamptonshire, Wellingborough
NottinghamshireAshfield, Bassetlaw, Broxtowe, Gedling, Mansfield, Newark and Sherwood, Nottingham, Rushcliffe
9. Anglia
BedfordshireBedford, Central Bedfordshire, Luton
CambridgeshireCambridge, East Cambridgeshire, Fenland, Huntingdonshire, Peterborough, South Cambridgeshire
EssexBasildon, Braintree, Brentwood, Castle Point, Chelmsford, Colchester, Epping Forest, Harlow, Maldon, Rochford, Southend-on-Sea, Tendring, Thurrock, Uttlesford
HertfordshireBroxbourne, Dacorum, East Hertfordshire, Hertsmere, North Hertfordshire, St Albans, Stevenage, Three Rivers, Watford, Welwyn Hatfield
NorfolkBreckland, Broadland, Great Yarmouth, King's Lynn and West Norfolk, North Norfolk, Norwich, South Norfolk
SuffolkBabergh, East Suffolk, Ipswich, Mid Suffolk, West Suffolk
10. South West
Bristol areaBath and North East Somerset, Bristol, North Somerset, South Gloucestershire
CornwallCornwall, Isles of Scilly
DevonEast Devon, Exeter, Mid Devon, North Devon, Plymouth, South Hams, Teignbridge, Torbay, Torridge, West Devon
Dorset'Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole', Dorset
GloucestershireCheltenham, Cotswold, Forest of Dean, Gloucester, Stroud, Tewkesbury
SomersetMendip, Sedgemoor, Somerset West and Taunton, South Somerset
WiltshireSwindon, Wiltshire
11. London
All London boroughs Barking and Dagenham, Barnet, Bexley, Brent, Bromley, Camden, City of London, City of Westminster, Croydon, Ealing, Enfield, Greenwich, Hackney, Hammersmith and Fulham, Haringey, Harrow, Havering, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Kingston upon Thames, Lambeth, Lewisham, Merton, Newham, Redbridge, Richmond upon Thames, Southwark, Sutton, Tower Hamlets, Waltham Forest, Wandsworth
12. South East
BerkshireBracknell Forest, Reading, Slough, West Berkshire, Windsor and Maidenhead, Wokingham
BuckinghamshireAylesbury Vale, Chiltern, Milton Keynes, South Bucks, Wycombe
East SussexBrighton and Hove, Eastbourne, Hastings, Lewes, Rother, Wealden
HampshireBasingstoke and Deane, East Hampshire, Eastleigh, Fareham, Gosport, Hart, Havant, Isle of Wight, New Forest, Portsmouth, Rushmoor, Southampton, Test Valley, Winchester
KentAshford, Canterbury, Dartford, Dover, Gravesham, Maidstone, Medway, Sevenoaks, Shepway, Swale, Thanet, Tonbridge and Malling, Tunbridge Wells
SurreyElmbridge, Epsom and Ewell, Guildford, Mole Valley, Reigate and Banstead, Runnymede, Spelthorne, Surrey Heath, Tandridge, Waverley, Woking
OxfordshireCherwell, Oxford, South Oxfordshire, Vale of White Horse, West Oxfordshire
West SussexAdur, Arun, Chichester, Crawley, Horsham, Mid Sussex, Worthing

© Electoral Calculus